Pack of Indians advance to District One South championships

Seven grapplers will represent Unionville this weekend trying to move one step closer to the state tourney By Dave Conard  Sports Editor,

220 pound Steve Annan defeated Corey Snoots later in the day pinning him to claim the section four bronze medal.

ROYERSFORD—An eclectic group of  Unionville wrestlers will travel to Spring-Ford High School on Friday to compete in the PIAA District One AAA South championships.

More over they will all have their sights set on one target, a PIAA Southeastern Regional berth, of which each weight class has five available for next week’s state final qualifiers at Oxford High School.

The pack of Indians will take to the mats at Rams Gymnasium by virtue of their qualifying efforts this past weekend at the Group four sectionals held at Boyertown.

Scott Seidenberger will be battling at 120 after finishing fourth last weekend recording three wins and two losses, which was good enough to claim a sectional fourth place medal.

There is good chance that 220-pounder Steve Annan got to see the best his class has to offer last Saturday a he pinned Corey Snoots from Octorara, following a semi final defeat at the hands of eventual champion Mike Boykin of Coatesville, to bring home the bronze medal from section four.

John Hartz claimed second place overall at 160 pounds in section four

A pair of runner up finishes by John Hartz at 160 pounds and Will Hart at 285 pounds, who both fell to grapplers from Pac-10 power house and back-to-back champions Owen J. Roberts, bodes well for the Indians at the district meet this weekend as both men battled through the brackets posting three wins apiece until the finals.

“It’s good to know the guys that are here,” said heavyweight Will Hart. “I would actually almost rather not have wrestled them before, I have two moves I like to use and if they have seen me it takes away my advantage. It’s good having teams like (Downingtown) West, (Downingtown) East and Owen J. (Roberts) here, to be the best you have to beat the best.

Unionville will be represented at 106 pounds by Bob Murray and Mike Caldwell at 126-pounds, who snagged fourth overall by fighting through the consolation bracket along with Seidenberger following second round losses. Caldwell won three consecutive matches before dropping the third place bout by a decision 5-0.

At Boyertown on Saturday, 138-pounder Zach Pfeifer and Perry Hopkins at 182 were dominant early on as they blew through the first two rounds before having to settle for bronze medal finishes as both men won their consolation match.

Hopkins pinned the Wildcats Tyler Rogers in 2:21, while Pfeifer scored a 9-4 decision over the Bears Reuben Maldanado.

The District One South AAA championship action starts Friday evening and carries over with the quarter, semis and finals on Saturday among 30 teams in attendance.

PIAA District One section IIII-Boyertown High School


Championship Finals
106 Aston White, Owen J. Roberts, won by tech. fall over A.J Garber, Downingtown West, 15-0; 5:29
113 Derek Gulotta, Owen J. Roberts, dec. Chase Brown, Spring-Ford, 4-0
120 Colby Frank, Owen J. Roberts, dec. Sean Hennessey, Spring-Ford, 5-0
126 Dan Pommerer, Downingtown West, pinned Jim Stong, Spring-Ford, 5:32
132 Demetri D’Orsaneo, Owen J. Roberts, maj. dec. Bo Johnstone, Octorara, 14-1
138 Adam Moser, Owen J. Roberts, dec. Jesse Quave, Spring-Ford, 7-5
145 Andrew Kinney, Owen J. Roberts, dec. Brandon Arnsberger, Octorara, 3-2
152 Kyle Shronk, Owen J. Roberts, dec. Jon Neiman, Boyertown, 7-6
160 Mike Lenge, Owen J. Roberts, dec. John Hartz, Unionville, 3-2
170 Gordon Bolig, Owen J. Roberts, dec. Gray Garber, Boyertown, 8-6
182 Chase Garber, Boyertown, pinned Nick Prange, Octorara, 1:56
195 Adam Pleines, Downingtown East, dec. Jordan Wertz, Boyertown, 4-2
220 Mike Boykin, Coatesville, dec. Matt Bartolotta, Downingtown East, 6-1
285 Brad Trego, Owen J. Roberts, pinned Will Hart, Unionville, 1:26


Third Place
106 Dylan Wertz, Boyertown, pinned Bob Murray, Unionville, 4:44
113 Mike Pommerer, Downingtown West, dec. Shane Ruhnke, Great Valley, 6-4
120 Eddie Kriczky, Boyertown, won by tech. fall over Scott Seidenberger, Unionville, 17-2; 2:29
126 TJ Nelson, Downingtown East, dec. Mike Caldwell, Unionville, 5-0
132 Noah Stephens, Coatesville, dec. Adam Dombrosky, Spring-Ford, 6-3
138 Zach Pfeifer, Unionville, dec. Reuben Maldonado, Boyertown, 9-4
145 Jason Dombrosky, Spring-Ford, dec. Matt Brownback, Coatesville, 4-1
152 Alex Wait, Downingtown East, dec. Jason Madanat, Downingtown West, 3-0
160 Cody Richmond, Boyertown, dec. Dan Lawrence, Spring-Ford, 3-1 SV
170 Gabe Hale, Downingtown West, dec. Tyler McGuigan, Spring-Ford, 2-0
182 Perry Hopkins, Unionville, pinned Tyler Rogers, Owen J. Roberts, 2:21
195 Mason Romano, Spring-Ford, dec. Javier Santiago, Octorara, 5-4 UTB
220 Steve Annan, Unionville, pinned Corey Snoots, Octorara, 3:41
285 Dean Lang, Great Valley, dec. Sean Snodgrass, Downingtown East, 1-0



   Send article as PDF   

Share this post:

Related Posts

One Comment

  1. Bob Murray says:

    There are 8, not 7 Unionville wrestlers advancing to Districts this weekend
    Mike Caldwell @ 126lbs was left out.

Leave a Comment