Unionville students winning acclaim

Unionville High School junior Meghan Shea, seen here pipetting bacteria into a test tube for her bioremediation project was among a number of Unionville students honored recently for academic achievement.

EAST MARLBOROUGH — In the past several weeks, Unionville High students have earned numerous accolades in science, business, and general academics.

At a meeting last week of the American Entomological Society at the Academy of Natural Sciences in Philadelphia, freshman Shashwat Kishore was presented with an award for his science research project entitled “‘The Effects of Preventive Measures in Malaria Control and the Impacts of Insecticide Resistant Vectors.” Kishore and Shombit Chaudhuri, a senior, both won trips to Pittsburgh earlier this month to participate in the International INTEL fair, which is being held in mid-May.

Junior Meghan Shea was selected to participate in the prestigious Clark Scholars Program, a research opportunity given to about a dozen students a year. The seven-week session at Texas Tech University pairs each student with a professor doing research compatible with the student’s interests and background. Shea’s research on bioremediation of oil spills won multiple awards at the Delaware Valley Science Fair, including a first-place prize from the American Society for Microbiology/Eastern Pennsylvania and an award from Swarthmore College for the most Socially Responsible Project. On Saturday, Shea earned a third-place finish for her work at the statewide BioGENEius Challenge.

At the state competition for the Future Business Leaders of America, which included more than 3,800 entrants, three Unionville students placed in the top three of their categories, winning them an opportunity to compete at the national level in San Antonio, Texas, in July. Kathryn MacGovern placed second in Hospitality Management; Steven Silverman finished second in Business Calculations, and Ziya Zhang placed third in Introduction to Business.

Thirty one 11th-grade students were recently notified that their score on the October 2011 PSAT put them in the top two percent of juniors taking that assessment in the country. Those students will ultimately be named as “commended,” “semi-finalists,” or “finalists” in the National Merit Scholarship program.

The students are Colin Biggs, Peter Brady, Allison Brittain, Jack Bubes, Abby Dorrell, Christine Eckman, Benjamin Gorko, Margaux Jacobs, Brent Jiang, Katherine Jin, Taylor Jones, Brian Leipold, Peter Mason, Hannah Nam, Jennifer Nowoswiat, Brad Pechin, Alexander Peterson, Meghan Pierson, Cameron Powell, Meghan Shea, Katherine Shuey, Steven Silverman, Kristin Smith, Ashish Streatfield, Beck Tuvesson, Christian Waibel, Jeremy Waterkotte, Emily Winn, Marina Wright, Jackie Xu, and Emily Yung, according to information provided by the Unionville-Chadds Ford School District.

   Send article as PDF   

Share this post:

Related Posts

Leave a Comment