County Democrats announce 2024 endorsements

Chester County’s Democratic Party incumbents for state Senate and House seats were all endorsed at Wednesday night’s endorsement convention leading up to the April 23 Primary Election. Only two of the General Assembly races were contested, with the 155th District’s incumbent Danielle Friel Otten receiving endorsement, and Elizabeth Moro receiving endorsement for the 160th District seat.

The PA Democratic State Committee had previously endorsed President Joe Biden and Pennsylvania’s senior Senator Bob Casey and voted to endorse state Representative Malcolm Kenyatta as the state’s Auditor General and state Representative Ryan Bizzarro for state Treasurer. An endorsement was not reached by PA State Committee for the office of Attorney General.

The following endorsements were reached at the Chester County Democratic Committee (CCDC) endorsement convention: 3-term Congresswoman Chrissy Houlahan (US 6th District) was unanimously endorsed and, for state Attorney General, Delaware County District Attorney Jack Stollsteimer received the endorsement.

Democratic Committee Persons or their proxies heard from candidates during the meeting and made their recommendations using digital voting.

After welcoming the more than 300 voting committee members and guests, Chairwoman Charlotte Valyo began by identifying the state and US legislative races that are not contested, requesting and receiving party endorsement by acclamation for those nominated. She went on to say “The Chester County Democratic Committee once again has a fully endorsed slate and, as in the past, the slate is qualified, experienced, and strong. We look forward to successful Primary and General elections in 2024.”

The full slate of endorsed candidates includes (incumbents*):

US President:   Joe Biden*

US Senate:        Bob Casey*

US Congress:     Chrissy Houlahan*

9th Senate:     John Kane*

19th Senate:     Carolyn Comitta*

13th House:     Cristian Luna

26th House:     Paul Friel*

74th House:     Dan Williams*

155th House:   Danielle Friel Otten*

156th House:   Chris Pielli*

157th House:   Melissa Shusterman*

158th House:   Christina Sappey*

160th House:   Elizabeth Moro

167th House:   Kristine Howard*

Attorney General:   Jack Stollsteimer

Auditor:                  Malcolm Kenyatta

Treasurer:               Ryan Bizzarro


Tuesday, April 23 is the Pennsylvania Primary. The last day for residents to register to vote for the primary is April 8. The last day to apply for a mail-in ballot from Chester County Voter Services is April 16. The General Election is Tuesday, November 5.

   Send article as PDF   

Share this post:

Related Posts

Leave a Comment