9 Avon Grove students named National Merit Scholars

Avon Grove High School students who were recognized as Commended Students in the 2024 National Merit Scholarship Program (top row from left to right: Jacob Akana, Tejvir Gill, Leah Gray and Russell Dunlap; bottom row from left to right Madison Butler, Elisabeth Roberts, Abigail L. Keller and Adelaide Etshman).

Avon Grove High School (AGHS) administrators recently announced that nine students have been named as Commended Students in the 2024 National Merit Scholarship Program.

The students, Jacob Akana, Madison Butler, Sophie Deering, Russell Dunlap, Adelaide Etshman, Tejvir Gill, Leah Gray, Abigail L Keller and Elisabeth Roberts, were each presented with a Letter of Commendation from the school recognizing the achievement. Administrators expressed pride in the students for demonstrating the hard work and dedication required to reach this level of academic performance.

About 34,000 Commended Students have been recognized throughout the country. They were named based on a nationally applied Selection Index qualifying score that varies from year to year. While they will not continue to the finals of the National Merit Scholarship competition, this recognition places them amongst the top 50,000 students who entered the program by taking the Preliminary Scholastic Assessment Test (PSAT).

The National Merit Scholarship Corporation, which conducts the program, emphasized the magnitude of the accomplishment. A spokesperson commented, “Those being named Commended Students demonstrated outstanding potential for academic success. These students represent a valuable national resource; recognizing their accomplishments, as well as the key role their schools play in their academic development, is vital to the advancement of educational excellence in our nation.”

   Send article as PDF   

Share this post:

Related Posts

Leave a Comment