McGuire wins CCATO Marshall student award

Nolan McGuire, Kevin Kerr, First Vice President of CCATO and Supervisor at Upper Uwchlan Township, and Dr. Dorothy Ives Dewey the Chair of the Department of Geography and Planning as West Chester University of Pennsylvania and is the Interim Associate Dean of the College of Business and Public Affairs.

West Chester University graduate student Nolan McGuire was named Lewis H. Marshall Awardee by the Chester County Association of Township Officials during their Spring Convention. The award focuses on an exceptional student destined for a career in municipal management.

McGuire as a Masters of Geography candidate served as a graduate assistant supporting the geographic information systems department, the academic staff and students at WCU. During his tenure at the university he continues working as an intern at the Borough of West Chester enhancing the borough’s GIS capabilities.  GIS systems are integral to the contemporary management of municipalities.

A native of Munhall, Pennsylvania McGuire received a Bachelor’s Degree in Geography from the University of Pittsburgh at Johnstown. While at Johnstown he was a student leader and Vice President of Student Government in his senior year. Following graduation in May he seeks a position where he can continue using his technical and managerial experience.

The award was named after Lewis H. Marshall who served on the Executive Board of CCATO and at West Goshen Township as Secretary/ Treasurer in each organization. The section committee includes a Vice President of CCATO, a Township Manager, and a faculty representative of the University.


   Send article as PDF   

Share this post:

Related Posts

Leave a Comment