Spirit Select 2015 improve to 11-2

Spirit Select 2015 took home its division championship at the All-American Showcase girls lacrosse tournament in West Chester over Father’s Day weekend. Front row, L-R: Catie Ward, Emily Anderson, Logan Perkins, Emma Dillon, Izzy McDonough, Elise Eginton, Sam Letang. Back row, L-R: assistant coach Carey Garvey, assistant coach Maia Walter, Cassie Blair, Kassie Dunn, Quinn Benintende, Molly Wentz, Katie Garvey, Olivia Hineman, Hannah Shiflet, Emma Walter, Kaelyn Murphy, Caroline Kaiser, Lexie Shanahan, Jane Yeatman, head coach Jaime Deniken. Missing: Hannah Bass, Larsen Welsh.

Unionville-based girls LAX team finished 3-1 at National Draw

EAST MARLBOROUGH — The Spirit Select 2015 girls lacrosse team followed its championship at the All-American Showcase tournament in West Chester over Father’s Day weekend with another strong performance at the National Draw tournament, held June 23-24 in Marlton, New Jersey.

The Unionville team, led by head coach Jaime Deniken and assistant coaches Carey Garvey and Maia Walter,  finished 3-1 against top competition at the National Draw.  Spirit Select 2015 edged MASS Elite 15 Red of Scituate, Massachusetts 8-7 in the opening game of the tournament.  It also notched victories over Tri-State 15 Black of Hightstown, New Jersey and the Long Island Top Guns 15 Purple of West Babylon, New York by scores of 7-3 and 10-7, respectively.  Spirit Select 2015’s lone blemish at the National Draw came in a 9-6 loss to the FS Lax squad of Frederick, Maryland, in a game that was closer than the score would suggest.

Spirit Select 2015’s performance in the National Draw pushed its tournament record this season to 11-2.  Next up is the Girls Summer Slam tournament at Westtown School in West Chester, where the team will face off against clubs from Delaware, Maryland, New Jersey, and Pennsylvania.  Players on Spirit Select 2015 include Emily Anderson, Hannah Bass, Quinn Benintende, Cassie Blair, Emma Dillon, Kassie Dunn, Elise Eginton, Katie Garvey, Olivia Hineman, Caroline Kaiser, Sam Letang, Izzy McDonough, Kaelyn Murphy, Logan Perkins, Lexie Shanahan, Hannah Shiflet, Emma Walter, Catie Ward, Larsen Welsh, Molly Wentz, and Jane Yeatman.

   Send article as PDF   

Share this post:

Related Posts

Leave a Comment